You May Know My Name

Inspired by Jonathan Anthony Burkett’s Neglected But Undefeated: The Life of A Boy Who Never Knew A Mother’s love and from an anonymous poem I saw online 

“You know my name, not my story. You’ve heard what I’ve done, but not what I’ve been through.” 

 

You may know my name

But do you know I breathe in fumes of fear?

And that every shoe I wear is laced in insecurities

Do you know that 3am knows all my secrets?

Or that I sleep on damp pillows I wish we could share

 

You may know me

But do you know I defend chipped chinaware?

I aggressively interpret their brittleness for beauty

Because I’m afraid you will never want my pieces

 

I wish you could take some of my emptiness

This manhunt for something I can’t explain

I wish we would dig together for that person I will never be

Leave a Reply

