Lover

Between seasons I found a lover. He would appear right before harmattan to feel my ashy palms and misty kisses. He kissed me lightly while I asleep. I never stopped him.  Never asked any questions. There was absolute peace, away from my two children and disappointed lover.

When we made love I lived different lives. Flashes. Me living centuries apart. A pot of water, balanced on my head in the early Benin kingdom. 1800, People running in war, he is picking me up. in the 1900’s, our country’s independence, a frilly white dress. Rings made of bronze.

I knew we would be together forever.

Leave a Reply

