Salvation

College years were a blur

Didn’t leave with much

No certainty, less ambitions

Graduated quite the mediocre

No prizes were carried home.

 

What I wished to carry were much heavier

Nights with vodka when i became a goddess

those nights my voice didn’t quiver

Those nights I misplaced everyone’s expectations

I told you drunken tales of who I wanted to be

I wanted to study salvation

 

When you asked why

I told you about the child in the rain

Shivering in the darkness that enveloped her street

She had no home and a sick mother

Staring at the light in her neighbors window

I would save her

 

Leave a Reply

