Nigerian Girl Problem

I skimmed through the pages of several books hoping to find someone like me. I’d pick them off the shelf and dump them there. Disappointed by today. Disappointed by life. The slit on my black dress was a bit too high. I could tell because of several stares of fascinated men and irritated women. Italian gold heels, also too high. My weave left strands of hair on my body. Discomfort tried to choke me to tears.
I missed carefree days, just wished I could breathe back all that life into me. My college dorm. My ex boyfriend with the tattoo.
Why does life happen?

Leave a Reply

